2013 Workout Challenge

I am posting my 2013 Workout Challenge.

Why am I calling it the Workout Challenge? Because, honestly, I have had HUGE difficulty in actually keeping myself on track when I work out. So, this will be a huge challenge for me. However, I have thought long and hard about what I needed to do to get this done. I have spent a lot of time thinking about the workouts that I liked. I have spent a lot of time thinking about the things I enjoy doing when I work out and why I have enjoyed them. I have thought long and hard about what works for me and what doesn’t.

One thing I am doing. I am telling people about this. I am keeping myself honest. I am posting updates to my facebook group and my friends about how I am doing. I am going to beg them to drive me crazy if I do not post an update on how I am doing. I want people to keep me honest in this. I want people to push me to do better. I want people to drive me nuts.

Here is the schedule that I have designed for myself. Underneath it is all the extra little details that I plan on for my new plan to a healthier, better me.

  • Sunday – Zombies, Run!
  • Monday – Karate Class, TV Workout
  • Tuesday – Zombies, Run
  • Wednesday – Karate Class, TV Workout
  • Thursday – Zombies, Run!
  • Friday – TV Workout
  • Saturday – Rest Day*

Saturday is a Rest Day as needed. If I am doing very well and feeling very good that day, I am going to encourage myself to do at least 1 TV Workout. A TV Workout is a workout based around my favorite TV Shows or movies. I am utilizing F*** Yeah Movie Workouts to help me figure out what I need to do for those workouts. So I promise it is not some random thing, it is actually something that is planned out. I am logging my workouts on Fitocracy, which is one of my favorite workout trackers ever. It treats tracking workouts like playing a video game or a roleplaying game. Every workout provides you with experience points. Get enough experience points and you level up. Go on quests by completing specific workouts. Get achievements for various things (including workouts). It’s utterly amazing.

I am a part of a facebook group and I’m giving some of the people that I trust my cell phone number. My goal is to post about my workouts each week at least once in the week. If I don’t, I’m hoping that the people I give my number to will bug me relentlessly until I post my workout or at least tell them about it. I want them to bug me. I want people to push me into working out.

I am going to also try and wear a pedometer. I am aiming for a certain number of steps each day. How many? Eventually at least 10,000 a day. Right now? I don’t know. I’m going to find that out when I figure out what I currently do. I plan on the first week just tracking what I do and not having a goal. At the end of the week, taking my average number of steps and using that to help me figure out what my total number of steps will be.

I also am tempted to use one of the sites on push ups and stuff on the TV workout days to try and help boost my muscle strength. Tempted. Not actually set in stone on this one yet.

I hope this helps me out. I have high hopes for myself this year. Getting in shape is a must. It will happen. I can’t wait to see how I look at the end of the year.

2 thoughts on “2013 Workout Challenge

  1. Also starting the year off with some Fitness goals. I just got the “Zombies, run!” app, and I’m very excited to start it. Good luck to you, and all the best.

  2. Zombies, run! Is a lot of fun. Since I’m not the best runner, I often speed walk with it unless I’m getting chased by zombies. Then I actually run. Though I won’t do many of the missions in it until I complete the 5k trainer app that can come with it. They made it fit in with the storyline between mission one and mission two. I definitely like them a lot. They’re good fun and really help! Best of luck and I hope you enjoy using the app. 😀 Also, if you’re interested. I’m doing another blog as well that tracks my workout journey and will mention my feelings on the different missions when I do them. If you want to check it out 🙂

    http://www.myfitnessandhealthjourney.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

