Far From Normal

Sorry for the lack of posts the last few days. I was not actually home. Anyway.

Daily Prompt – Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

As an outsider might?

Well, then I guess the first thing that they might notice is that I am a LARPer. They might attribute it to the movie Role Models. I actively participate in two LARPs currently, with a third that I’ve been a part of on hold due to a medical injury that I had. My two LARPs currently are Dystopia Rising (a post-apocolyptic, zombie, survival, horror game) and Vampire: The Requiem (a theatre style political intrigue game). In the zombie game I play a run away slave living in one of the few towns that out laws slavery and I am actively trying to evolve into a stronger being. In the Vampire game, I play an 1890s street rat that was embraced by a Nosferatu vampire. She is just now gaining an introduction into vampire society and is getting herself into a bit of trouble from her lack of knowledge. A lot of people might think it strange that I continually play games like this. They might find it rather off putting. Some even think it shows that I cannot accept the real world and that I don’t understand reality. Well, none of that is true. For me, this is a great chance for stress relief. It allows me to take a break from things stressing me out so that I can look back on it with new eyes. It gives me a chance to practice social skills I struggle with in an environment that feels safe with people I trust. It also gives me a chance to learn a lot since I do a lot of research when building characters and their costuming. I learn more about history and society through my LARPing and by building characters than I ever did in school. It’s something I really enjoy.

Second thing someone might notice would be that I am a geek. I love comic books. I love Monty Python and renaissance faires. I LARP and play D&D. I love zombies and superheros. I love fantasy and Science-Fiction. It’s true. I’m a geek. And honestly, I’m proud of it.

Third thing someone might notice about me. I’m easily amused. I often find things very exciting that many others might find mundane. I often try to live my life to the fullest and experience everything I enjoy as much as I can. I do what I can to enjoy this as much as possible. I am an optimistic person and I find the joy in as many experience as possible. It can be strange to some, but it often means that I am very happy with my life.

I another thing someone would notice is that I LOVE musicals. I have a huge collection of Original Broadway Cast Recordings. I have a pile of programs from musicals that I have seen. I have a pile of DVDs for musicals I love. I have a huge supply of theatrical stuff including numerous pairs of dance shoes (despite limited dance experience), a huge box of stage/special effect makeup, costuming supplies, etc. There is just no way to get around how much I love musicals. And yes, I do randomly break out into song and dance.

A fifth thing that people might notice about me, I am rather quiet and shy. I don’t meet people well. Even among a crowd of nerds, if I don’t know people I will get very quiet and very introverted and I won’t really interact with anyone. It can suck a lot. But it’s true.

Another thing that an outsider might notice about me (but probably not the last thing they’d notice) is that I am a very strong Christian and I am very up front about it. I have posters on my wall about it. My Bible sits next to my bed. I listen to Christan music. It very much so influences my choices and beliefs. It is hard to not notice my faith in me. Though, that’s a good thing in my eyes. Why would I believe in something and not try to live it out? So, for it to be noticed by people means a lot to me and I am glad that people do notice it.

So yeah, those are 6 things that I think an outsider would notice about me. Now I don’t have to worry. I know they won’t think I’m normal.

Hell, I play pretend all the time. lol.

Leave a Reply

