RP Fix

Some days, you just need the RP Fix.

I sound like an addict when I say that, though, I guess I’d prefer to be addicted to roleplaying games than addicted to drugs, but that’s just me.

I had a dream last night. I dreamed that I was at a Dystopia Rising game. I’d left all of my item cards at home. I’m transferring out of the chapter to another one, so I had set aside everything for the transfer and left it all at home. Oops. And I played the game. I enjoyed it. Had a great time. Went home and everything moved on.

It was a rather innocuous dream really. (Also, I really love the word innocuous right now, not sure why, but I feel so cool whenever I use it). There was nothing in it that made me wake up spooked or shaken. It wasn’t a nightmare. It wasn’t something remotely unsettling. I just played a game of Dystopia Rising.

Then again, it’s been a few weeks since my last game (almost a month at this point) and I still have to wait til May before I get to play again.

Maybe I just miss playing. Maybe I just wanted desperately to get in one more game right now.

There is a game coming up at the chapter I’m leaving. It’s this coming weekend. I’m not going because that is Easter weekend and I feel Easter is important. But it doesn’t make me miss the game any less.

There’s a lot of things I do when I work on filling my cravings for game. Sometimes I write one of my short stories (though, those are most often saved for just after a game to help me work through any bleed that may or may not happen). Sometimes I work on costuming. Sometimes I design new characters. Sometimes I work on updating character playlists (and yes, I do have some updating to do, that’s for sure). But none of them ever truly get rid of the itch, the want to play.

What do you do when you have an itch to play but no game coming up?

Leave a Reply

